The Adjudicator Professional Certification (APC) is required for all Personnel Security Adjudicators in the DoD Consolidated Adjudications Facility, DoD Intelligence Community Central Adjudication Facilities, and personnel security adjudicators employed by an agency accepted to participate in the program.

The APC assesses foundational knowledge in the following competencies:

  • Adjudicative Guidelines (concerns, disqualifying conditions, mitigating conditions)
  • Adjudication Processing using the Whole Person Concept
  • National Security and the Personnel Security Program
  • Critical Terminologies
  • Procedures for Due Process
  • Type and Scope of Investigations
  • Types of Information Sources
  • Levels of Eligibility to Occupy a Sensitive Position and/or Access to Classified Information
  • Pertinent Statutes, Executive Orders, and Regulations Governing the Personnel Security Process

APC Program Maintenance Procedures PDF icon

APC Competency Preparatory Tools (CPTs)

Knowledge Test

The Knowledge Test consists of a series of questions in each APC area of expertise. It also includes a detailed answer to each of the questions.

Sample Test

The Sample Test presents examples of the type of questions found on the APC assessment and identifies the number of questions on each topic. Additionally, the layout is designed to simulate the look, feel, and function of the assessment.

APC Areas of Expertise

Areas of Expertise

The APC Areas of Expertise identify by topic area the courses, information, and materials available to assist you in increasing your proficiency in each of the nine security areas.